Footprints

A simple poem. Many are familiar with, I’m sure. I myself, know the simple storyline without having to read it. And yet, I sometimes still fall short of my faith during hard times. But every time I read this poem word by word, it never fails to touch my heart when I reach the last line. A little comfort. A gentle reminder.

One night I dreamed a dream.
I was walking along the beach with my Lord.
Across the dark sky flashed scenes from my life.
For each scene, I noticed two sets of footprints in the sands.
One belonging to me, and one to my Lord. 

When the last scene of my life shot before me,
I looked back at the footprints in the sand.
There was only one set of footprints.
I realized that this was at the lowest and saddest times of my life.
This always bothered me and I questioned the Lord about my dilemma.

“Lord, You told me when I decided to follow You,
You would walk with me all the way.
But I’m aware, at the most troublesome times of my life,
there is only one set of footprints.
I just don’t understand why, when I needed You the most,
You leave me.”

He whispered, “My precious child, I love you and I will never leave you,
never, ever, during your trials and testings. 
When you saw only one set of footprints,
it was when I carried you.

Leave a Reply

