20110817-051036.jpgA story of three angels, archangel Gabriel, the healer Ivy and Bethany, the youngest among the three, sent down to earth by heaven to bring good and peace to the world. In their human form, they take on living as people in the town of Venus Cove. Things kinda got messed up when Bethany, the most human of the three angels, fell for Xavier Woods from her high school. The appearance of Jake Thorn complicates things even more, later in the story.

I’ve always had a certain liking towards fantasy fiction. And I’m always mystified by angels. Specially when its either archangel Gabriel or Michael. And seldom will we come across a fiction book that involves angels, let alone, having the angels as main characters. So when I read the synopsis of this book, I can’t resist giving it a try, even though I’ve never heard of its author before.

I have to say, Alexandra Adornetto, a new and very young author, surprised me. Though the storyline may sound interesting, I was a little doubtful at first on her style of writing. Needless to say, I am impressed, and enjoyed the book from the beginning till the end. Describing the scenes, bringing you into the world of the angels, feelings, all that. Really captivating.

Narrating through Bethany, Adornetto did a great job telling us how the angels got used to human life. How they try to conceal their supernatural powers and differences to prevent the humans from knowing exactly what they are. Love connection between Bethany and Xavier is really heart-warming, though a little too good to be true in our real world. But of course, that’s why we have fiction books right? To give us a little hope. Haha. Personally though, I don’t think Bethany is being any bit like an angel. More like a girly teenager in love. Gabriel and Ivy on the other hand didn’t disappoint my perception of angels. However, I still loved the book. It was until I reached the end of the book that I realize, it’s a series, or rather trilogy, I think.

Conclusion, I can’t wait for the next book to be out. Titled Hades, to be out 30th August 2011. Can’t wait~!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s