Shotgun

Typical. From Episode 1 of Season 1 Supernatural, Jensen Ackles as Dean Winchester caught my attention. And as the series develops, it just gets worse, resulting in me getting obsessed over him. Haha. I’m so used to the feeling now. Anything Jensen Ackles and I go “Aahhhh~~~”. Lol. Anyways, needless to say, am quite familiar with some of his lines in the movie. One of his famous quotes is…

“Driver picks the music, shotgun shuts his cakehole.” – Dean Winchester

Hooked onto this phrase almost immediately. At that time, I just thought it sounded cool, roughly knowing what it means. But heck, my English ain’t perfect, and I was a little lost in the use of the word ‘shotgun’.

Decided to look it up. Google, of course. And then finally, Urban Dictionary is the way to go. Haha. There are quite a few different meanings to ‘shotgun’. But the most common and popular ones are as follows…

1) The obvious one. A kind of gun. 

2) The meaning that fits perfectly into Dean Winchester’s quote. It’s also by far, the most popular usage for the word. 

3) Something I’d like to try someday. Heh. Sounds cool. To do the action and to use the word in that sense. Lol.

And there you go. A little English Language lesson. Am sure ‘shotgun’ is gonna be one of my favourite word to use for quite some time. Big thanks to Jensen Ackles of course. (If I may say again… Am so far gone for him.. Lol!)

Leave a Reply

