The Hunger Games (2012)

Yes. I finally watch the show. Finally. And I gotta say, with all the hype over the movie, I’m happy that I’m not disappointed with it. Kinda surprised though. I didn’t read the book, so I have no idea what the actual story is, just the basic summary. So, I was wondering how can a movie where they put 24 teens in the wilderness to kill each other while the whole world watches it like reality TV, be nice. It sounds sadistic. BUT, I’ll say it now, it’s a great show to watch.

First thing that strike me was Jennifer Lawrence. Oh my gawd. So different compared to when she acted in ‘House At The End Of The Street‘. I’m actually blown away. No offence, but comparatively to her performance here, Jennifer Lawrence in ‘House At The End Of The Street’ sucked. Absolutely loved her here. She made being the tough chick look believable. And seriously? I think she looks so much prettier here than when she had blonde hair and looked like a bimbo. She should keep her hair dark brown. Really. Adds so much more substance in her look. By the way, I wonder if I’m the only one who thinks she as Katniss Everdeen, looks a little like Anna Popplewell as Susan Pevensie in The Chronicles of Narnia. Specially with the dark brown wavy hair, slightly plush lips and the archery skills.

Jennifer Lawrence as Katniss Everdeen.

Anna Popplewell as Susan Pevensie.

                                     
See the resemblance? I couldn’t recall who acted as Susan Pevensie when I saw Jennifer Lawrence on The Hunger Games last night, so I actually wondered if is was ‘Susan’. Turned out it wasn’t but, damn, such resemblance, specially at certain angle. Or maybe, its just me. Heh. 😉 Still, I love both of them in their respective roles mentioned above. 🙂

Like I said, I haven’t read the books. So I’m not sure how the character Peeta Mellark is supposed to be. But in the movie, I find him somewhat a bit of a wimp. Of course, that is relative to Katniss Everdeen.
In my opinion, this role ain’t really suitable for Josh Hutcherson. I mean, seeing him in Journey To The Center Of The Earth as well as Journey To The Mysterious Island, being a wimp ain’t exactly fitting for him, although it is agreeable that these two movies are in a different league (a couple leagues lower, actually) as The Hunger Games. However, I feel he played his role pretty well, even though I’d rather see him in a more courageous role. He still looks really young though. Guess it’s a little hard to shade his baby face since Journey To The Center Of The Earth. 😉

The baddies. Smug? Yes. Arrogant? Yes. Mean-looking? Yes. But damn they look like quite a powerful solid team. The kind that one look, and you may have second thought about going up against them. 😉

One of the minor character who caught my attention is little Rue. Played by a really great young actress, Amandla Stenberg. She also played the young Cataleya in the movie Colombiana, which she did a splendid job as well. Her chemistry with Jennifer Lawrence in The Hunger Games, albeit short screen time, leaves an impact to the audience. It’s no wonder they won the ‘Choice Movie : Chemistry’ title at the Teen Choice Award 2012.

This is a movie I’d definitely recommend to people, if there’s anyone out there around me who haven’t watch it. 😉 And I’m considering reading the books as well. I don’t know how author Suzanne Collins can even come up with such a crazily sadistic concept of putting teens into an arena so the world can watch them kill each other until there’s a last one standing, but in the aspect of creativity, it’s brilliant. And with the morale values (sacrificing for the ones you love, humanity, not losing yourself under presure, etc etc) she teaches through the books and also the various philosophical questions raised after reading the books (as said by a friend of mine) despite the crazy concept, it has made the story a really good and famous one. Can’t wait to read the books to see if it’s really as good as I expect. 😉

As for the movie, it’s definitely not the last time I’m watching it. It’s definitely a movie that I can watch and re-watch. 🙂

2 thoughts on “The Hunger Games (2012)

  1. Ooh, yes you should read the books! And no, Peeta is definitely not a coward in the books 🙂

    I read somewhere that the concept of Hunger Games was kinda similar to one of Stephen King’s book named ‘The Long Walk’. I have not read the Stephen King book but I went to wiki it and the storyline does seem kinda familiar 😛

    • I don’t think he’s a coward. Just a little wimpy. Lol!

      You read the books? Really nice? Ok, I’ll add it to my reading list. Stephen King’s got something like that? That’s cool! Though, damn! My reading list is getting freaking long! Lol! 🙂

Leave a Reply

