Dinner @ AHMO, Irrawaddy Road

So, Imelda & I finally got around to buying Angie her belated birthday dinner. Yeah, it’s a bout more than a month belated, but hey, it’s a busy world. As Angie has said before, she prefers Western food, and we were sorta wondering where we can take her for dinner, specially when the 3 of us like going to new places to try out new food. Lady luck was with us when a day before the dinner day, Imelda found out bout this place from a friend of hers.

AHMO. Newly opened. Not more than 6 months. Located at the quiet (and extremely dark at night) Irrawaddy road, it’s easy not to have known this place even existed. But am glad we did find out about this place. The moment I stepped in, I love the simple but yet comfortable atmosphere of this place.20121110-224828.jpgCooling, quiet and nice to chill out. Comfortable chairs and tables to dine on. Spacious enough so that the place is not crammed.

Thought the design of the walls and ceilings were a little funny. Funny, but it seemed to work, fitting nicely into the place with the furniture somehow.20121110-224837.jpgIt is an old house, made new. Simple yet classy and modern. Kinda made me feel that, sometimes, we really don’t need to spend so much to make a place look nice. πŸ˜‰

The food though, was a toss of the coin. It depends on what you order. Think it ranges from one end of the scale, right to the other end. We had no problems for the drinks though.Β 20121110-224850.jpgThere was Angie’s ‘Strawberry Sunrise’ which is a blend of oranges and strawberries, Imelda’s ‘Apple Juice’ and my ‘Orange Juice’. No complains here. Though, you can’t really complain much about drinks, can you? Except that, I read a comment on a blog that the milkshake here ain’t nice. Hence, none of us ordered the milkshake. πŸ˜‰

First up, we had the ‘Hungarian Chicken Goulash Soup’.Β 20121110-224858.jpgIt’s a little sourish, but it tastes really good. The garlic bread would have been perfect if it was crunchy, but even though it’s soft, its still pretty yummy. It’s actually surprising that not many people know how to make really nice garlic bread, but this place has it nailed. I’d give the soup an 8.5 out of 10 if I had to rate it. πŸ™‚

I had the ‘Lasagne al Forno’.Β 20121110-225000.jpgNot the best lasagne I’ve ever had, but it’s averagely nice. Portion a little (just a little) big for a cheese based food in my opinion. I definitely won’t mind ordering this in the future, though, not the near future. πŸ˜‰

Angie’s ‘Tom Yam Seafood Carbonara’ is a little unconventional. I’d like to say though, its the first time I see a tom yum themed spaghetti.Β 20121110-225010.jpgIt certainly is different. Kinda nice actually. However, if you put aside the way they served the dish, all Western styled, it feels a little like typical ‘Eastern food’ noodle with a slight tom yum taste to it. Unconventional, yes. Different, yes. Special, nope.

Imelda had the ‘Mixed Grill Seafood’.20121110-225021.jpgI think the 3 of us agreed that this ‘Mixed Grill Seafood’ is kinda small in portion. But nicely decorated, nonetheless. πŸ˜‰ Had a bite of the fish, and I gotta say, it is very well cooked. I may wanna try this the next time I’m back there. According to Imee, this dish ain’t too bad at all. πŸ˜‰

And because the portion of the above mentioned dish was small, Imelda decided to get herself another main dish. The ‘Chicken Vienna Sausage’.
20121110-225029.jpgAngie and I both didn’t try this as we were kinda full, but according to Imelda, she’d never order this again, ever. So erm, I think the verdict is pretty clear. Lol. πŸ˜›

Angie and I both shared an interesting dessert called the ‘AHMO Crepes Suzette’. We actually saw the waitress serving it to another table and was instantly attracted. By the look of it. It is actually the cafe’s signature dessert. Β 20121110-225038.jpgThe green tea ice-cream blends pretty well with the orange liquor, though those two don’t go really well with the crepes. I’m not sure what would, but maybe something a little crispier may be nice with the green tea ice-cream and orange liquor? Anyway, this is kinda averaged for a signature dessert. But I’d most probably order it again the next time I’m there. πŸ˜‰

Really glad to have tried this place. No doubt I’ll recommend my friends there. Specially for the atmosphere. The food, like I said, is a coin toss. Will definitely go back there again. I mean, there are so many more things on the menu that I want to, but haven’t tried. I’d give them an ‘A’ for coming up with the menu. There are just so so so many choices to choose from. πŸ™‚

For a little more info, this is the website of the place :Β http://www.ahmo.my/
Just for the fun of it, I’d rate the website a 4.5 out of 10. It’s creative and unique, but barely enough information to satisfy the customers. Oh well. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

