The Hobbit : An Unexpected Journey (2012)

The_Hobbit-_An_Unexpected_JourneyOkay. I was bouncing gleefully when I first learnt that director Peter Jackson would be filming The Hobbit. Now, what I didn’t know what it would be in 3 parts. I mean, he made the LOTR trilogy in 3 movies based on the 3 books. But now, The Hobbit, which is only a single book (not even considered a really thick book) is dismantled into 3 parts. But I guess it’s not surprised that everything turned out just nice. For a movie that is filmed based on 1/3 of a single book, it ain’t draggy, ain’t boring (far from it actually) and ain’t stale. Kudos to Mr. Jackson. ๐Ÿ™‚

As The Hobbit is set pre-LOTR, we see a much younger Bilbo Bagginsย here, played by Martin Freeman.The-Hobbit_bilboIt seems that, the entire production of this movie was delayed simply because Jackson insisted Freeman to be his Bilbo, hence the entire schedule was shifted to accomadate Mr. Bigshot. But I guess it was worth it. Freeman did an awesome job as the famous Bilbo Baggins.

It was great seeing some of the ‘old characters’ from LOTR pop up on screen. Somehow, I got a little thrill of excitement. It’s like seeing some old friends. Well, not really, but something like that. ๐Ÿ˜‰

First up, we have Gandalf the Grey who is a big part of The Hobbit story.the-hobbit-gandalfIan McKellen is, what I would say, the perfect Gandalf. I really cannot imagine a better person to play this role. Wise old man.. Or rather, wizard. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Next up,ย  we’ve got Elrond, the Elven Lord of Rivendell.Elrond_in_Rivendell_-_The_HobbitSince seeing him on LOTR, he’s become one of the actors I love to watch. Nope, I wouldn’t call him one of my favourites. But, I think he’s a pretty good actor. He’s not the kind that have a ‘fixed kinda role’. Know what I mean? He could be a homely guy, the good guy, the evil breed, the graceful elf, etc etc.

And then of course, what would a J.R.R. Tolkein story be without good old Gollum. The-Hobbit-gollumAndy Serkis. The name made famous by his outstanding performance as the creature Gollum. arts-graphics-2008_1184625aAnd no, those are not pimples on his face. Those are motion sensors. They sense the movements of his face’s muscles and convert it into Gollum’s many famous expressions. I think Serkis made Gollum believable. Real. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Then there’s a mini apprearance of the star of the LOTR trilogy, Elijah Wood as Frodo Baggins. hobbit-frodoWhen I saw him, I realized that, so far, he’s those ‘one-time famous stars, or rather in his case, 3 times, since he starred in all 3 movies of the entire LOTR trilogy. But you know what I mean.ย  Unlike Orlando Bloom who played the graceful heartthrob blonde elf, Wood didn’t seem to appear in anymore blockbuster or half decent movies since the LOTR trilogy. Oh well, that’s too bad. Though, I don’t feel much. He’s never one of my favourite character to watch in LOTR. ๐Ÿ˜‰

There are some other appearance of ‘old characters’ such as Ian Holm portraying the old Bilbo Baggins, Cate Blanchett portraying Galadriel and Christopher Lee as Saruman the White.

Then there are the newbies! Mostly dwarves. Or well, people who acts as dwarves. Lol. It’s pretty cool they’re able to make normal sized people looks like dwarves and hobbits, really. These are less than half of them in the group on ‘the mission’.The Hobbit: An Unexpected JourneyThere are really quite a number of them. But there are a few who caught my attention.

First, there was the leader of the Company of Dwarves, Thorin, played by Richard Armitage. The-Hobbit-Thorin-Oakenshield-With-BowAt first glance, I thought he has a slight similarity towards Aragon, the rightful heir as the King of Gondor in Lord of The Rings. But after watching a few scenes of him, I took back that thought. He’s nothing like Aragon. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Though I like the fact that Armitage is able to create a commanding presence around him. However, (spoilers!) his doubfulness of Bilbo throughout the movie kinda makes him a small douche bag. ๐Ÿ˜‰

And then there’s the dwarve that caught my attention as fast as Legolas did mine. Kili! kili-aidanturnerFirst thought when I saw him? “Holy shit! I didn’t know there are dwarves this good looking!” Okay well, maybe not that good looking. But among the dwarves? Damn! He caught my eye. With his mischievious persona, it’s just attractive. Somehow. And I predict, many teenage girls will go goo goo gaa gaa over him. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Dwarves aside, there’s also a new wizard in town. Or forest. Erm. Yeah. Radagast the Brown.hobbit_radagastPlayed by Sylvester McCoy, Radagast exudes his eccentricity spectacularly. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Watch out for his scene and the little animal. I’m not sure, but I think it’s a porcupine. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Scenes to look out for :the-hobbit-first-meetingBilbo’s first encounter with the dwarves in his kitchen. Highly amusing.
Then there’s this one.hobbit-bilbo-find-ringBilbo’s first encounter with Gollum in the caves where he found the Ring. The game both he and Gollum played is hilarious. Or rather they were hilarious when playing the game. ๐Ÿ˜‰

All in all, this is a really great movie. Peter Jackson did it again. I’d say though, the orcs don’t looks as horrendous here as they did in the LOTR trilogy. Hhmmm. And, as great as this movie is, I feel it still somewhat lacks in comparison to the LOTR trilogy. Then again, we’d have to wait for the next two in ‘The Hobbit’ movie series to be released before we can truly compare. Afterall, in the LOTR trilogy, it just gets better from The Fellowship Of The Ring to The Return Of The King. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Will definitely buy this to keep and re-watch from time to time!

One thought on “The Hobbit : An Unexpected Journey (2012)

  1. Pingback: The Hobbit : The Desolation Of Smaug (2013) | Growing Wings

Leave a Reply

