A ‘Meaningful’ Birthday Wish

Right at the beginning of 2013, I made a decision. I removed my birth date from Facebook. Somehow, someway, I’ve realized that most of the wishes on Facebook barely means anything nowadays. People just wish you ‘Happy birthday!’ simply cause Facebook tells them too. It’s not as if they truly care to remember your birthday. There was a time when friends will note down your birthday and remembers it. Up till now, I remember all the birth dates of my close friends from my schooling years. No Facebook needed. I know it may seem ridiculous, but I personally don’t think so. It means so much more when someone takes the effort to note down and remember your birthday, rather then just log in on Facebook and happen to see the notification that it’s someone’s birthday.

So this year, I made that decision. And it goes both ways. I wish only my friends ‘Happy Birthday’ and really not bother much about acquaintances. I don’t even bother checking the birthday notifications on Facebook anymore. šŸ˜‰ Though, now that my birthday is coming up, I’m a little curious to see how many people actually remembers without Facebook telling them. šŸ˜‰ Oh well… I’d rather receive 5 meaningful birthday wishes than 100 wishes that don’t mean a thing.

One thought on “A ‘Meaningful’ Birthday Wish

  1. Pingback: What A Pleasant Surprise!:) | Growing Wings

Leave a Reply

