Lunch @ Hou Mei Yuen

One of my favourite places to go for lunch during my uni years. The boy, or well, ex-boy, recommended me to this place. Kinda glad he did, cause I love the food here. Located on the ground floor of the flats opposite the Bukit Jambul Complex, Hou Mei Yuen serves mainly ‘pan mee’.20130422-131423.jpg‘Pan mee’ is supposedly a Hakka-style noodle, originating from Malaysia. Besides the ‘pan mee’ they also serve a small variety of ‘dim sum’. There’s also a ‘rojak’ stall right next to the shop. Even though most of the tables and chairs are arranged out in the open area, lunch here is usually cooling and nice cause we’re all seated underneath the shade of big huge trees.ย 20130422-131432.jpgOf course there’s that small problem where there’s a possibility of ‘things’ falling from the tree right into your food. =P But we try not to think of that when we’re eating there. Haha. Besides, it’s only a very low possibility. ๐Ÿ˜‰ The food is worth the chances. Lol. I usually order the ‘flat pan mee in soup’.ย 20130422-131458.jpg‘Flat pan mee’ is flat (of course) and wide. I love the soup. It’s simply delicious. Cooked with ‘ikan bilis’ (anchovies), the soup tastes absolutely yummy, and healthy. You can barely see any oil floating in it actually. Lol. I usually order this with extra fishballs. My mum opted for the ‘dry thin pan mee’.20130422-131515.jpgThe ‘thin pan mee’ is a little more like yellow noodles, in size. The texture and taste is a total different thing of course. I didn’t really like the dry one cause it’s cooked in soy sauce. It’s not bad, really. But it just doesn’t have the unique taste of the anchovies soup. They do however serve you the fishballs in a separate bowl with a little bit of the soup. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Mum and I ordered a so-called side dish. The ‘siu mai’!ย 20130422-131527.jpg‘Siu mai’ here is really nice. At least to me. Not my top favourite, but definitely one of my favs. They have a couple other kinds of ‘dim sum’ served there, but I really just wanted the ‘siu mai’. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Sadly the rojak stall was close on the day mum and I went there to eat. The rojak is pretty nice too. Take note that the only drinks served here is either ‘Luo Hon Ko’ or iced ‘Sui Phui’.20130422-131534.jpgBut I’m not complaining, and neither is anyone else who comes here to eat. ๐Ÿ™‚ It just goes very well with the food.

Considering the lack of variety in food, the fact that this place is packed during lunch time speaks a lot about how nice the food is. Or at least the ‘flat pan mee in soup’ is. ๐Ÿ˜‰

2 thoughts on “Lunch @ Hou Mei Yuen

  1. Eu Jin brought me there before too! And yes, I totally know what you mean by possibility of things falling into the food bowl! Lol

Leave a Reply

