Saving General Yang (2013)

SavingGeneralYangAlright. I rarely watch Chinese shows. But when Mich suggested ‘Saving General Yang’, I said “Okay!” Reason? Well, somewhere in the back of my mind, I remembered the story (or rather history) of the Yang family. Really interesting, but tragic. I can’t help but wonder if this show is about that Yang family. Just had to watch it and find out. Yup. I was a little too lazy to read the synopsis. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Turns out, I was right. General Yang was played by Adam Cheng.ย sgy_adamchengI actually took 10 minutes or so to recognize him. Not really sure if he suits this character cause he’s not really the warrior type. If I remember correctly, he suits the more flamboyant type of characters. Hence, I actually find him portraying a rather weak & feeble General Yang.

I won’t say the same thing about General Yang’s 7 sons though. The director picked all the hot or pretty boys of the east to play the roles of the sons. Really made me wonder if the actual General Yang’s sons were all that good looking. Okay, when I say good looking, I meant relatively speaking. Though I don’t find all of them really that attractive, but I gotta say, together, they make a bunch of good looking dudes, as a whole. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I thought all 7 of them did a pretty good job though. They somehow managed to project the different characteristics of each brother really really well.

First up, we have the eldest son, Yang Dalang, who is played by Ekin Cheng.ย ekin-cheng-sgyThough I expected someone older to play the eldest son, gotta say that Ekin Cheng did a pretty good job as an eldest brother. Love how he portrays his character as strong, silent, serious and responsible. He made it so believable, you can sense immediately that this is a brother who is extremely reliable and would protect of his family till the end. No questions asked. *thumbs up*

Second son, Yang Erlang.sgy_yuboThe quiet sensible one. Played by Chinese actor, Yu Bo, this character immediately comes across to the audience as the middle person in most family affairs/conflicts. It’s also very obvious that he really looks up to his big bro. Yu Bo really lived up to his character. Even without many scenes of conflicts, you’re able to know exactly what kind of person Yang Erlang is.

Next we have Yang Sanlang, son number 3.sgy_vicchouNow, I know this guy don’t look really too appealing (at least it ain’t appealing to me), with the moustache going on. But damn, like I’ve mentioned previously in other movie reviews, I seem to have a certain attraction to archers. There’s just something about a guy being able to handle the bow and arrow well. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Hence, I find myself noticing this character more, simply cause he looks so cool shooting arrows. And his silent demeanor just made him even more mysteriously attractive. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Made a mental note to check up who’s the actor who played this role. And when I finally did check it up, I got a freaking shock of my life, cause the person playing this role is none other than previous F4 member, Vic Chou!!! I was speechless for a couple of seconds. Seriously. Put aside that Vic’s age is kinda young to be playing the third son in the Yang family, I can’t believe he managed to shed his pretty Taiwanese boyband look soooooo well! I mean, this is what he looks like in real life.ย Vic ChouI’m actually very impressed. As impressed as I was when I watch Rihanna play the tough navy chick in ‘Battleship‘. And that, coming from me, is hell of a compliment, considering Vic is one of my least favourite member from F4. So, really, great job!

Chinese actor Li Chen played the part of Yang Silang, the 4th son of the Yang family.ย sgy_lichenThis fella kinda slipped my mind. I can’t really remember much of him from the movie except the last part where he fought to delay the soldiers in catching up with his other brothers. Oh well, in life, there are bound to be one or two who slips from the mind. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Son number 5, Yang Wulang, is played by Hong Kong heartthrob, Raymond Lam.ย sgy_raymond lamHe portrays the kind-hearted 5th son really well. The son who is an expert in medicine and treating injuries. Despite having to act like a tough fearless warrior, Raymond manages to incorporate a certain gentleness to the other side of his character as well. Great job there.

The 6th son, Yang Liulang, who’s also sort of the main character of the show (not exactly the main character but ‘sort of’ simply cause he had a little more screen time and focus of the storyline as compared to his ‘brothers’), is played by Taiwanese actor, Wu Chun.ย sgy_wuchun2Gotta say, he didn’t really make an impression on me during the first half of the show. Or maybe it was his character’s personality. Soft-spoken with a tad of cheekiness. Very pleasant. But towards the end, you’ll find yourself find him a little endearing. Wu Chun did an averagely good job as the 2nd youngest son.He manages to bring forth the character and made the audience truly believe he’s the 2nd youngest in the band of brothers. The brother who is trying to be more responsible and serious like all his older brothers, but at the same time can’t help exuding his youthfulness. One thing I must say though, Wu Chun have a pretty great looking bod. ๐Ÿ˜‰sgy_wuchunI seldom notice bodies of Asian celebs, but damn, this is pretty nice. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Not over bulked up, not too lean. Just the right amount of muscles, though if the abs are slightly more defined, it would be awesome. Lol! However, maybe it’s just the angle, cause Wu Chun looked kinda average size when he had his clothes on, on screen, unlike the above picture where the shoulders look pretty damn attractive. Oh well. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Finally we have youngestย son, Yang Qilang.sgy_fuxinboChinese singer Fu Xinbo nailed this character. Youngest brother. Filled with mischief, lack of patience, short tempered. The minute you see him, you know he’s the youngest. Unfortunately for him, he has less screen time then the rest of his fellow cast members who played his brothers.

I thought one of the most gruesome scenes of the show is when the brothers arrived at the battlefield which their father had lost.saving general yang gruesomeI remember a short clip where they showed the hooves of the horses stepping on mud drenched in blood. Kinda does something to a person (oh well, a person like me) when he/she starts wondering just how many people have to be slaughtered before you can soak up the earth with blood. Confession. I said a silent prayer then that hopefully the world will ย never experience physical war again.

Yup, there are a couple other characters, but none of which left an impact in my mind, so I’m really not bothered to write bout them. Haha. The 7 Yang brothers actually stole the entire show. Well, no surprise there, right? ๐Ÿ˜‰

When I saw all the brothers, I was thinking, the young girls are so gonna eat this up. No, they’re not gorgeous, but you have to admit, together as a group, they make a bunch of really good looking guys.sgy_sonsI mean, individually, you may just fin them above average to pretty good looking in looks, but when they’re put together, you can help but lump them together as ‘the group of good looking brothers’. ๐Ÿ˜‰ And I was right. The fans were all over these ‘brothers’ that they even did a photo shoot of them as the modern version of the Yang brothers/warriors.ย sgy_sons_modernAnd I thought, these are all photo shoots and scenes from the movie where they have been made up to look manly and good. So I googled a little more and came across this picture of all 7 stars attending a function. No make-up, nothing. Just them in their nice suits.ย sgy_sons_modern2Well, well, well. Still a pretty good looking bunch as a whole, don’t ya think? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

