Dinner @ Kampai, E-Gate

A while back, me and some of the ladies from my new cell group decided to go for a dinner and some hangout, girl bonding session. Sharon suggested this newly opened place at E-Gate called Kampai.20130502-103028.jpgNow, I was confused for quite some time wondering what kinda food is served here. My first thought was Japanese, but then Sharon said it’s Chinese food. Curious. Never heard of such a name for a chinese restaurant. Anyway, when we arrived, we realized it’s more of Taiwanese food. My first thought, “Meh.” I’m kinda picky when it comes to Taiwanese food. Nope. Not cause I love it, more like I don’t like it. So it has to be really Taiwanese and yummy, if not…… *thumbs down* So anyway, not sure what to make out of the place when I first stepped in. 20130502-103037.jpgSo apparently, they look like (look being the operative word) they have some live seafood. Or maybe they do. I can’t really remember. 😉 Anyways, this is like the first place with this kinda concept that actually serves beer. Various kinds of beer. Weird ones even. Good thing? Spacious. 20130502-103048.jpgThe chairs may not look comfortable, but for this kinda ‘food-eating’ it’s actually not bad. Bad thing? Kinda hot. Actually, took me about 15-20 minutes to really stop sweating and really feel the slight (very slight) cool air. Maybe we should have just sat outside. Meh.

First 2 things that annoyed me even before I started with my food :

1) The menu.20130502-103104.jpgAbout 50% of the dishes listed here are actually just names of the main ingredient in the dish! No indication of how it’s cooked or what it’s cooked with. I was like, “WTF!” And really, the entire restaurant, there’s not a single picture of any of the dishes they provide except for 2-3 sample looking dishes on plates, wrapped with plastic. Bad marketing plan.

2) The drinks.20130502-103246.jpgOkay, maybe some will find me kinda petty about this but, who the hell serves plain water in a beer glass?! I’m sorry but I’m kinda particular. I mean, I get annoyed when they served me Konig Ludwig in a Hoegaarden glass. What more plain water in a beer glass. Don’t you have a normal plain glass? If you wanna open a restaurant which serves beer, make sure you learn some basic restaurant/bar-tending ‘ethics’. Ugh.

Anyways, coming back to the food. I’m gonna list the name as it is given in the menu, then you’ll know what I mean about ‘annoying menus’. 😛

First up, we have the ‘Traditional Fried Noodle’.20130502-103124.jpgI like this fried noodle. It’s one of the simplest yet hardest dish to cook, in my opinion. Cause, it’s easy technically, but to make it yummy and memorable, not that easy. I’m not saying this is memorable, but it’s definitely nice. We actually thought of ordering another plate but decided against it after realizing that we ordered a total of 8 dishes for 6 ladies. 😉

Next up, the ‘Singapore Bee Hoon’.20130502-103131.jpgBland and tasteless. ‘Nuff said.

I suggested the ‘Salmon Belly’. So we ordered that as well. 20130502-103211.jpgSee what I mean? Just ‘Salmon Belly’. *frowny face* Anyway, it was served with a slice of lemon and some sorta powdery stuff, which is supposed to be spices (I asked the waiter), but actually just taste kinda salty. But all that aside, the grilled (at least, I think it’s grilled… since the MENU didn’t mention it) ‘Salmon Belly’ was actually kinda nice. To me, one of the most important thing about fish dishes is their freshness and this one? Pass. 🙂

We also ordered the ‘Taiwanese Chicken Nuggets’.20130502-103141.jpgIt’s not bad, but I’m not impressed. It’s like a cross breed of fried chicken and chicken popcorn…… Wait, chicken popcorn is fried chicken in small pieces. Okay, I don’t know what I’m talking bout, but bottomline, I’m not impressed but it’s definitely edible. 😉

The ‘Bitter Gourd’. Yup. That’s all it said in the MENU. ‘Bitter Gourd.’20130502-103151.jpgI actually like this. Know why? Cause even though I can’t really remember how this taste like exactly, it’s enough to make me go around and look for bitter gourd stir-fry with egg for the following week, whenever I am at the economy rice stall. And let me just say, “Me no, and never, likey bitter gourd”. Lol. So even though I don’t remember, it must be pretty good. At the very least, above average. 😉 And yes, not the name listed in the menu. Just ‘Bitter Gourd’. How the hell am I supposed to know if its fried or steam or raw or made into soup or etc etc!? With egg or with prawns or with chocolate or with ice cream?! Yup. Pun fully intended. Never heard of bitter gourd with ice cream or chocolate or chocolate ice cream, but if anybody has tried before, well, I’d love to know the taste and the ‘effects’ of it, if you know what I mean. 😉

Next was the ‘Mo Po Tofu’.20130502-103200.jpgThis is averagely nice and I actually liked it. Had second and third helpings of this. So *thumbs up * from me! 🙂

Another veggie dish we had was called, ‘Kai Lan’.20130502-103221.jpgLet me just say, ‘kai lan’ is actually the name of the veggie. Its actually the Cantonese name for Chinese broccoli. So you see? There you go again, listing only the main ingredient in the menu. How the hell would I know the ‘kai lan’ would be cooked like this with carrots and etc etc?! Gosh. Anyway, all that being said, this dish? Just average. Too much bark, too little leaf. I love the leafy part of veggies as compared to the barks. Haha.

Finally, there’s the ‘Taiwanese Roast Pork’.20130502-103233.jpgBeing a Penangite, living in an island where there are simply shitload of places that sells roasted pork, I’d call this a total failure. I usually prefer my roasted pork to be a little crispy, but this is more than a little limpy. And it’s sliced so thin, you don’t even get ther feel of eating roasted pork. Maybe it’s the Taiwanese style of serving it I guess. Well, sorry, but it’s a disappointment.

The food are priced averagely reasonable and it would be nice to come in a group cause then you can have more dishes. I am planning to come back and try some other stuff though. Hopefully soon.

And even though the menu was just lack of information and the food ranges from nice to a failure, I enjoyed the company. Nope. Of course not to the extend of the company of my close friends. Take into consideration, these are pretty new people in my life. New cell group members. But we gel pretty well together and I actually look forward to more outings like this. One meal and a cup of beverage from a nearby Starbucks, the ladies of the Green Lane Life Group (one or two from another group, but who cares! haha) had formed a bond. May it grow stronger. 🙂 20130502-103303.jpg

Leave a Reply

