Star Trek Into Darkness (2013)

StarTrekIntoDarkness_FinalUSPosterReally never a fan of Star Trek. Trust me. I’m not even neutral about it. I’m just plain not interested whenever I hear Star Trek. But this time around, I decided to give it a try cause there’s been really good reviews……. from friends. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Not movie critics but just my friends. Even those who’re like me, uninterested in Star Trek left the cinema loving the show. So yeah, I really just can’t give it up, can I? Lol! Let me just get this out of the way and say, I absolutely enjoyed the show. Seriously. It made me wanna go search out all the previous Star Trek movies and watch them. I think it’s even better than Iron Man 3. I also think it’s great that in this show, even when they do have specific lead character, they actually managed to spread out the focus on all the different characters instead of focusing on ย the 2 or 3 main casts only, which is what almost every other movies do.

Now I’ve never been a fan of Chris Pine, and I really rarely notices him in movies, but I thought he did an averagely good job here. Bare in mind, I didn’t watch Star Trek (2009).ย Chris-Pine-in-Star-Trek-Into-Darkness-2013-Movie-Image4Supposedly (I’ll tell you why I used the word ‘supposedly’) the main character, Captain James Kirk, Pine plays it with style, in my opinion. Love the character’s sarcasm and humour. Being a typical girl, I’ll say that having a pretty good looking main character usually adds some plus points into the movie, however little it might be. Though, good looking he may be, and I totally agree with that, I’m just not attracted to him. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I thought the character Spock, played by Zachary Quinto is hilarious, as much as his character is the contrary. ๐Ÿ˜‰Zachary-Quinto-in-Star-Trek-Into-Darkness-2013-Movie-Image-21That hair! OMG. Lol! Bare in mind this is a person who’s never watched Star Trek before, hence the fashion sometimes throws me off guard. Haha. Quinto did a great job keeping a straight face and almost robotic voice. Emotionless, apparently. Haha.

Now the robotic alien above, have a girlfriend. Yup. As emotionless as he is, he does. Actress Zoe Zaldana plays Spock’s lover, Nyota Uhura.Star-Trek-into-Darkness-zoe-saldanaI actually find her pretty attractive. Not to me, of course, but generally as a lady. The confidence, the physical beauty and the look of a lady with character. Plus, she does tough chick pretty well. Hm. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I was wondering why this fella looks so familiar. Nicknamed Bones, nicely portrayed by Karl Urban.ย Karl-Urban-as-Doctor-Leonard-McCoy-Bones-in-Star-Trek-Into-DarknessSo I decided to look it up, since he looks familiar but yet I find it so hard to recognize. Given that I watched Lord Of The Rings countless times, it’s no wonder the face of Eomer, yes Eomer, would still look familiar after so many years!ย Eomer_at_the_coronationYes! Karl Urban is Eomer! Gosh! He looks so different with short dark brown hair and no beard. Lol! So different but yet, familiar! ๐Ÿ™‚

It was nice to watch Simon Pegg in his niche. I find his roles are usually somewhat similar.ย star-trek-into-darkness-simon-peggOr at least the way Pegg plays Scotty is similar to the way he plays Benji in Mission : Impossible – Ghost Protocol. Very similar.

I was pleasantly surprised when I saw John Cho in the movie. Again, let me just say, this is my first Star Trek movie (I’ve never even touched the series) ever.ย So, I really have no idea who acted in the previous movies.ย star_trek_into_darkness-john_choI know this angle doesn’t really do his looks much justice, but, if you watch the movies, he really doesn’t age much. The first time I saw him on screen was in one of the episodes in the cult series Charmed. I kinda like his character in this movie. Though it may not be the lead, but he still manages to shine a little and get the audiences’ attention, which I think is a great job done. It’s not easy for people to notice you if you’re not one of the lead characters, specially in big ass blockbusters. ๐Ÿ˜‰

But if you ask me, the real star of this show, the one who stole all the limelight and attention, the one who shone like he’s a whole level above theAppearanceย rest is none other than English actor Benedict Cumberbatch who plays the superhuman villain, Khan.ย star trek into darkness benedict cumberbatchSuperb performance! He was so captivating throughout the movie. Every time he appears on screen, I’m pretty sure almost everyone’s attention is just drawn to him. I can’t help wishing that he’s the good guy disguised as the villain, but, oh well. Anyway, I still find myself liking his character at the end of the show even though he’s the bad guy. ๐Ÿ˜‰ And I gotta say, based onย all the pictures I’ve seen of him in the series Sherlock, posted by fans, and pictures of him during public appearances, he really suits this jet black short cropped hair the best.ย star-trek-into-the-darkness-benedict-cumberbatchReally gives him an air of mysteriousness. I’m really somewhat charmed by Cumberbatch’s performance (and looks) in this show. ๐Ÿ˜€ But seriously, awesome job on his part! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Now I’m going around to see if I can get myself a copy of the 2009 Star Trek. This movie has sparked my interest. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’d definitely get a copy of this so I can watch it as and when I want. ๐Ÿ™‚

3 thoughts on “Star Trek Into Darkness (2013)

  1. Pingback: Pacific Rim (2013) | Growing Wings

  2. Pingback: Star Trek (2009) | Growing Wings

  3. Pingback: The Hobbit : The Desolation Of Smaug (2013) | Growing Wings

Leave a Reply

