Hansel & Gretel : Witch Hunters (2013)

HanselGretel-Poster-IMAX-610x956What a twist to the childhood story of Hansel & Gretel. Or rather, it’s more like a spin-off of the original kid’s version. This movie tells of what happens when Hansel and Gretel both grew up. It’s at least better than the 2010 weird version of Alice In Wonderland which Johnny Depp starred in. πŸ˜‰ Much better if compared to that, even though that movie had Depp in it. πŸ˜‰

So Hansel and Gretel both grew up to be witch hunters after killing the witch who tried to eat them in the gingerbread house. I kinda expected the casts would be of a slightly younger generation, since it’s the life after the fairytale. It’s just logical to have the storyline around their late teens/early 20s. Definitely didn’t expect an extremely adult version of Hansel and Gretel. Kinda making it a little hard to comprehend, but I’m not complaining. πŸ˜‰

Jeremy Renner as Hansel.Β Hansel-And-Gretel-Witch-Hunters-Jeremy-RennerAlbeit a little old, his sarcasm and slightly nonchalant attitude in this movie made him somewhat a little more ‘boyish’. Not to mention, a little more likable too. Although, I gotta say, I prefer watching him in Mission : Impossible – Ghost Protocol (2011), and was more attracted to him when he worked the aarows and bow in The AvengersΒ (2012). Sad to say, this is not a role he (or any other actors, I feel) could shine much. Don’t think it’s his fault. Most probably the character plot is to be blamed. Renner is one of those few actors that I feel is not really good looking but yet I don’t mind watching him time again appearing different shows.jeremy_rennerNo, not a fan, but I just don’t mind watching him on screen.

Female lead Gemma Arterton plays Gretel.Β Hansel-and-Gretel-Witch-Hunters-Gemma-ArtertonShe’s pretty, I’d give her that. But in this movie, her acting skills kinda falls flat. Or maybe like I said earlier, it’s the character plot, I’m not sure. Her character just don’t shine, and she’s supposed to be the star of the show. I felt that not only Renner outshone her, but even supporting cast member Pihla Viitala who plays good witch, Mina, outshone her a little, me thinks.Β Hansel-and-Gretel-Witch-Hunters-Pihla-ViitalaI find myself noticing Viitala more than Arterton in the show. πŸ˜‰ Oh, and I find it a little weird that Hansel and Gretel seem to appear more like lovers than siblings. hansel and gretelSeriously. Lol! I don’t know how the director directed them, but I totally didn’t get any sibling vibe from either Renner or Arterton. Almost from the start, it feels like they’re actually lovers. Of course minus the parts when they were kids. πŸ˜‰

Thought the evil witch, Muriel, looked pretty good. Well, from certain angles. πŸ˜‰Hansel-Gretel-Witch-Hunters-Famke-JanssenI actually find Famke Janssen more attractive than Arterton. And to think that she’s so much older too! She has that ‘no-nonsense-prim-and-proper-but-still-look-good’ look. ;P Haha! And I can’t help noticing that she looks a little like Demi Moore. πŸ˜‰ But of course, all that is before she showed her true colours as the evil witch…….Β Hansel-Gretel-evil witchGot a shocked when she suddenly transformed. Lol. But still not as scary as the some of the witches/vampires/monsters in other shows I guess. Maybe they have to tone it down, cause there are probably many kids watching this movie. πŸ˜‰ Anyway, I just realized why she looks so familiar while reading up about her for this blog post. Famke Janssen is the lovely actress who played the role of Jean Grey in X-Men trilogy movies!Jean Grey 2Doesn’t look like she aged much, eh?

Was slightly disappointed with the gingerbread(candy) house.Β HanselandGretel_GingerbreadHouseThey really shouldn’t darken this scene, I feel. It makes the house looks so inedible. It would be so much more appealing if its brighter, making it look like a real attractive gingerbread house. But that’s just my personal opinion of course. πŸ˜‰

All in all, not too bad a movie. Not amazing, but it’s those kind of shows that I don’t mind watching again, once in a long while. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

