The Hobbit : The Desolation Of Smaug (2013)

The_Hobbit_-_The_Desolation_of_Smaug_theatrical_posterSince I saw the first hobbit movie, An Unexpected Journey, in 2012, I was anticipating for the release of this second show. Let me just say, it didn’t disappoint. I took my mum to watch this movie with me. I was trying to convert her into a non-anti-LOTR mum, you see. Haha! She’s always exclaiming “Yeerrrrr!” whenever she sees me watching LOTR simply cause she finds the orcs and Uruk-hai gross. πŸ˜› And guess what? Mission accomplished. She still hasn’t really taken a liking to the orcs and Uruk-hai (obviously), but at least she now knows why I love LOTR. πŸ˜€

However, all that being said, I personally feel that, although both these movies (An Unexpected Journey & The Desolation of Smaug) are pretty awesome shows, they still somewhat lack that sense of epicness that the LOTR trilogy has. Maybe it’s the lack of epic mass-like battles, but of course this is due to the original story plots and we can’t really blame it on that, I guess. Anyway, it’s still a show that will keep you to the edge of your seats throughout the entire time.

FINALLY. We see Legolas back in action. I was ecstatic when he first popped onto the screen. LOL!Β The-Hobbit-Smaug-legolasHowever, I’m not sure if it’s only me, but I find the Legolas in The Hobbit trilogy seems to be more moody and arrogant as compared to the one who appeared in LOTR trilogy, even though both are played by Orlando Bloom. Hm. Do note that, even though Legolas seems to have quite a significant role in movie of The Desolation of Smaug, he actually was never mentioned in the book. He only appeared as one of the main characters in the LOTR books, never in The Hobbit. But seriously, I’m not complaining. πŸ˜› Haha! And I think this is the first time ever, I didn’t complain that a movie deviate from it’s respective book.

Another addition to the movie is a female character, Tauriel.Β HBT2-fs-140204.DNGTauriel was played by Evangeline Lilly. Loved that she is more of the tough fighting elf. It’s about time we have a cool female elf. Lol! Arwen (played by Liv Tyler) did appear like a tough hot elf at the beginning of the LOTR trilogy, but later on, she just became a little more like the sweet elven princess that she is supposed to be, which I feel is a little sad. Would love to see her show her spicy side. πŸ™‚

Anyway, another new face to the movie is Luke Evans. And I thought it amusing that Luke Evans and Orlando Bloom are in the same movie playing quite significant characters, because I used to think Luke Evans looks a lot like Orlando Bloom! Haha!Β The-Hobbit-The-Desolation-of-Smaug-lookalikeEven with one blonde and the other black haired, I can still see the similarities. Not as obvious as comparing Luke Evans to Orlando’s look in Pirates of the Caribbean. Luke & OrlandoOrlando-Bloom-and-Luke-EvanNo? Or maybe I’m the only one who thinks so? Hhmmm.

The voice of the dragon was somewhat captivating and a little mystical.la_ca_1217_the_hobbitI was wondering who voiced this magnificent creature, so I googled it. Lo behold, Smaug the dragon, was voiced by the one and only Benedict Cumberbatch!Β benedict-cumberbatch-premiere-the-hobbit-the-desolation-of-smaugYes, the fella who is famously known for his work in British series Sherlock and also the villain in the 2013 Star Trek Into Darkness. No wonder the dragon good. What with the slight traces of posh English coming from this British dude. πŸ™‚

Overall, I would say that The Desolation of Smaug is even better than An Unexpected Journey. However, it’s still lacks a little something if compared to the LOTR trilogy. I mean I can watch the latter countless times and never really get bored. But with both The Hobbit installments, I’ll definitely watch it more than once, though there’ll need to be period gaps in between, like a couple of months or so. πŸ™‚ All that being said, I’m still looking forward to the final movie in The Hobbit trilogy. I’m almost sure it’s gonna be even better than this one. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

