The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (2014)

The_Amazing_Spiderman_2_posterTook 2 years for this to be released after The Amazing Spider-Man came out in 2012. I remembered that I love that first show, and this sequel lives up to expectation, in my opinion, even though I know there were some negative reviews from my friends. Oh well, one man’s meat is another man’s poison. 😛 Gotta say though, somehow, I prefer the first movie, but this is just a very close second place, so I guess, not much of a difference. Storyline ain’t too bad. There were a few sappy moments, but I guess we can overlook that. Happy that they kept the comedy factor alive for this sequel too. 🙂

Andrew Garfield resumes his role naturally (and thankfully… can’t imagine anyone else taking his place now..).amazing-spider-man-2-peter parkerI think he has made ‘backpack-carrying-Spidey’ a trademark. His own trademark. I recalled being amused by Peter Parker in his Spidey costume carrying a backpack. Kinda makes everything a little more real, don’t you think? 😉 After watching Garfield as Spidey, I cringe everytime I remember the Toby Maguire-as-Spidey days. Bbrrr. No offense to Maguire of course. It’s just he pales in comparison when it comes to playing Spider-Man.

With the chemistry going on between Peter Parker and Gwen Stacy, as well as Garfield and his off-screen girlfriend Emma Stone, who obviously plays Gwen Stacy (haha!), it feels as if this movie can be renamed ‘Gwen Stacy’s final days’.The_Amazing_Spider_Man_2_Gwen_StacyIt’s sad. Really. Both on-screen and off-screen. Seriously, I think I speak for majority of the audience when I say, we love watching Stone and Garfield together on-screen. peter-parker-and-gwen-stacy-in-the-amazing-spider-man-2It’s kinda hard to imagine which leading lady can step in the shoes of the famous Mary Jane Watson and create the chemistry that can match that of Stone and Garfield’s. Sigh.

The funny thing is, the villains in this movie, aren’t really villains. Well, they are, indirectly. But mostly, it seems that they are good guys (or crazy innocent guys) who were driven mad by their ‘condition’. At least for now, they are not truly evil on the inside. Yet. Jamie Foxx steps up as Electro. amazing-spider-man-2-jamie foxx-electro-2Yes. This is indeed Foxx. A little unrecognizable. But definitely him. I actually felt a little bad for his character, Max Dillon. He was this harmless little loner who did no harm to anybody, until of course, when he became Electro. Then there’s the Green Goblin who’s actually Peter’s childhood friend, Harry Osborn. Yes. There are 2 villains here.amazing-spider-man-2-green-goblin-dane-dehaan-2My first thought when Dane DeHaan first popped onto the screen was, “Has he even reached puberty?!” LOL! 😛 Gosh. He looks really young. It made me feel worse when I googled him and found out he is the same age as I am. WTF. 😦 Garfield looks like he could be his elder bro or young uncle or something. Haha! Anyways, I do find it a little cheesy when Harry and Peter have their heart-to-heart talk on-screen.

I won’t mind watching this movie again despite having already watched it in the cinema with Imelda. It’s nice and entertaining. I won’t say it keeps you on the edge of your seat, but it is interesting enough. I thought the first movie left more of an impact as compared to this sequel, but I enjoyed this thoroughly as well. So yes, am looking forward to ‘The Amazing Spider-Man 3’. 🙂

Ooh! Another highlight for me? I get to be Spidey for 5 seconds! Big thanks to Imee for snapping this pic! 20140630-210427-75867694.jpg

2 thoughts on “The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (2014)

  1. Wow, you really do look like you’re upside down and stuck to the wall! Looks more believable than some of the others who just make the peace sign, haha!

Leave a Reply

