Transformers : Age Of Extinction (2014)

kinopoisk.ruWhat a disappointment. Despite the rave reviews from some friends of mine, I find the 4th installment of the Transformers movies a total let down. First up, storyline. Personal opinion? Bad. Barely any substance. I think Michael Bay tried to cram in every super idea he has in this movie, and it kind of backfired. There were 2 or 3 climaxes that made me think that the show is going to end, so I was getting ready to leave, but later realized there’s still about an hour or more left of the show. Hmph. And really, the storyline in general is just kinda boring. The visual effects were great, no doubt. Everything else? Meh. First time ever, a Transformers movie left me feeling like the movie is 6 hrs long when its only around 2 hours and 45 minutes.

The cast. Not that I dislike Mark Wahlberg or if I am a fan of Shia LaBeouf (which I am not), but I seriously prefer LaBeouf’s performance as the main character in Transformers as compared to Wahlberg’s. With LaBeouf, the movie feels fresh. However, Wahlberg portraying a overprotective and over-possessive father with cheesy lines just made me cringe, in quite a number of the scenes.ย transformers-age-of-extinction-mark-wahlbergHe really should just stick to macho-tough guy-ish characters, cause he’s good at that. Here, I’m not sure if its actually bad casting decision by the Michael Bay or bad script that made the movie worse.

As for the female lead, there’s Nicola Peltz, who plays the daughter.ย Nicola-peltz-transformers-age-of-extinctionShe is pretty and young, but she is no Megan Fox.transformers_megan foxI actually feel bad for the leading ladies who replaced Fox in the Transformers series after she was dropped from the cast cause, even though I don’t really like Megan Fox, I will be the first to say that she has set the bar very high as the leading female character in the Transformers series. Rosie Huntington who starred in Transformers : Dark Side Of The Moon, as well as Peltz here, pales in comparison to Fox, who played Mikaela Banes, Sam Witwicky’s first girlfriend. A tough chick who rise up with courage in the face of danger. Too bad for Huntington and Peltz that their characters does not really possess such characteristics. Haha. Gotta say though, Fox’s onscreen chemistry with LaBeouf, did help to make the movies more….. ‘interesting’. Lol! ๐Ÿ˜›

Then there’s the boyfriend. Oh goodness gracious. The boyfriend.ย Jack Reynor-transformers-age-of-extinctionTogether with the father and daughter, these 3 have some of the cheesiest lines in the history of the Transformers film series. It was funny at first, but towards the end, I just rolled my eyes. Haha. Gotta say though, Jack Reynor who portrays this character, is ‘not-so-hard’ on the eyes. Haha. He’s not in my top 10 hottest Hollywood stars list, but he’s not too bad, as far as the cast in this movie goes. Lol! But that’s where the positive comments end. I have nothing else good to say about him or the cast. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Even the Autobots and Decepticons weren’t that interesting this time around. It’s just kinda flat. This round though, we have something new. Dinobots!ย optimus-prime-age-of-extinctionI don’t know whether to be impressed or amused. It like Jurassic Park, Transformers style. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Just because both are big movies, it doesn’t mean that combining both is a good idea. Haha!

Overall? I can’t wait for the movie to end after an hour in the cinema. I think this is a case of trying too hard to make a hit, but it ended up as a miss. Of course, this is only my personal opinion. There are tons of people who loves this show. ๐Ÿ™‚ I for one, don’t think I’ll be getting a copy of this to re-watch during my free time. If I want to watch a Transformers movie, I have the first 3 shows, and that’s good enough. ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

